From far away as Jupiters sulphur mines

Punk Bird Update

My last post  was about helping my buddy Paul out with fundraising for his Birding Documentary Punk Rock Big Year.  I said I was donating a punk inspired bird original art piece…here’s what I did.

Started with taking some reference photos, literally assembled a pile of garbage.

20121205-102908

Drew a blue jay, and did a basic rough inking.

20121205-141104.jpg

I then assembled it in the computer to make a transfer.

20121205-141125.jpg

Took a couple tries though.  I switched up the file a bit, changed printers, and the paper I was working on and it came out perfect.

Last but not least, I hit it with a bit of oil painting to bring it all together.  I wanted to keep a bit of the “marker/ink” look to the bird so I only added it mostly to the face and the underside.

Really happy with how this turned out.  I tried to mix it up from my regular processes.  My original idea was to paint a bird with a mohawk, but ended up going a different direction –  I just made a nest out of plaid shirts, spraypaint caps, pins and band flyers.

Here’s the final:

20121205-141154.jpg

Later

4 responses

  1. Ryan

    SIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIICK

    December 6, 2012 at 5:41 am

    • Ryan

      p.s I would knife fight anyone for that thing, I imagine it’s going to be a battle royal to the death for who gets it?

      December 6, 2012 at 5:42 am

      • Still awaiting its fate….in the meantime I have found that my art is sooooo good it will start a knife fight….bahaha thanks man ill let you know.

        December 6, 2012 at 7:04 am

  2. that is really wicked b – i want it too…perhaps i should use my “in”??

    December 6, 2012 at 9:59 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 467 other followers